Char Dham Yatra: Route Map

Uttarakhand is known as “DevBhoomi” or the Land of The Gods. The famous temples of Chardham are located in the Garhwal Himalayas. The Chardham Yatra includes four holy shrines of Lord Vishnu, Lord Shiva, Goddess Ganga and Goddess Yamuna respectively. It is named Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gangotri and Yamunotri. The Chardham Yatra is the most devoted and most spiritual tour in all of Uttarakhand.

The Chardham sacred yatra was started and founded by the great philosopher & reformer Adi Guru Shankaracharya in the 8th C.E. The holy yatra of the Chardham is started from Haridwar, also known as the “Gateway To The Gods” which is well connected with all the four shrines. The glorified expedition towards the famous shrine includes many mesmerizing views and memories that will last a lifetime with the tourists and travellers.

Char Dham Route: Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath, Badrinath

The Chardham in Uttarakhand glorifies the inner beauty of the landscape. There are thousands of views which improve the beauty of Chardham, tourists get hypnotized with the breathtaking beauty of nature. At the beginning of this holy yatra, the very shrine that is to be visited is Yamunotri then Gangotri, followed by Kedarnath and Badrinath. The journey of Chardham is very simple and easy. All the roads are well connected to each other. A short description of the Chardham Yatra is given below :

Badrinath Dham Route Map

It is elevated at an altitude of 3133 mt above sea level, from the left side of the river Alaknanda. This sacred place is devoted to Lord Vishnu, legends say that Lord Vishnu meditated at this place.

Important Place to Visit : Pandukeshwar, Yogadhyan Badri Temple, Mana Village, Satopanth Lake, Tapta Kund, Neelkanth Peak, Charan Paduka, Mata Murti Temple, Narad Kund, Bheem Pul, Ganesh Cave, Brahma Kapal, Sheshnetra, Vyas Cave etc.

Destination: Delhi to Haridwar 206 km –> Haridwar to Rishikesh 24 km –> Rishikesh to Devprayag 74 km –> Devprayag to Srinagar 34 km –> Srinagar to Rudraprayag 33 km –> Rudraprayag to Karnaprayag 31 km –> Karnaprayag to Nandprayag 21 km –> Nandprayag to Chamoli 10 km –> Chamoli to Joshimath 48 km –> Joshimath to Badrinath 42 km.

Kedarnath Dham Route Map

This temple is situated at an altitude of 3584 m above the sea level, followed by the river Mandakini. Kedarnath is one of the 12 Jyotirlinga of Lord Shiva. Kedarnath is very easy to reach, the routes of Kedarnath is in good condition. The Famous Jyotirlinga of Lord Shiva is a must visit where Lord Shiva shows his presence as a fiery column of light.

Important Place to Visit : Gandhi Sarovar, Phata, Son Prayag, Triyugi Narayan Temple, Chandrapuri, Kalimath, Vasuki Tal, Shankaracharya Samadhi, Gaurikund.

Destination: Delhi to Rishikesh 231 km –> Rishikesh to Devaprayag 74 km –> Devprayag to Srinagar 35 km –> Srinagar to Rudraprayag 33 km –> Rudraprayag to Tilwara 9 km –> Tilwara to Agastamuni 10 km –> Agastamuni to Kund 15 km –> Kund to Guptkashi 5 km –> Guptkashi to Phata 11 km –> Phata to Rampur 9 km –> Rampur to SonPrayag 3 km –> SonPrayag to Gaurikund 5 km –> (Kedarnath New Route After 2013 Flood) Gaurikund to Rambara Bridge 7 km -> Rambara Bridge to Lincholi 5 km –> Lincholi to Kedarnath 4 Km.

Gangotri Dham Route Map

The shrine of Gangotri is an elevation of 3200 mt above sea level in Uttarkashi, the place where thousands of devotee pay their visit to wash away their sins in the urge of salvation. The holy river Ganga flows with purity and peace.

Important Place to Visit : Bhojbasa, Gangnani, Kedartal, Gaumukh, Gangotri Temple, Bhaironghati, Jalmagna Shivlinga, Tapovan.

Destination: Delhi to Rishikesh 231 km –> Rishikesh to Tehri 75 km –> Tehri to Uttarkashi 117 km –> Uttarkashi to Bhatwari 31 km –> Bhatwari to Gangnani 15 km –> Gangnani to Harsil 27 km –> Harsil to Gangotri 25 km

Yamunotri Dham Route Map

It is the westernmost shrine of Garhwal region. Yamunotri is the origin of river Yamuna, this place is famous for the temple of Goddess Yamuna and the holy thermal springs at Janki Chatti. The temple of Yamuna was constructed by Maharaja Pratap Shah of Tehri Garhwal.

Important Place to visit: Yamunotri Temple, Saptarishi Kund, Surya Kund, Divya Shila, HanumanChatti, Kharsali.

Destination: Delhi to Rishikesh 231 km –> Rishikesh to Narendranagar 16 km –> Narendranagar to Chama 46 km –> Chamba to Brahmkhal 15 km –> Brahmkhal to Barkot 40 km –> Barkot to Sayana Chatti 27 km –> Sayana Chatti to Hanuman Chatti 6 km –> Hanuman Chatti to Phool Chatti 5 km –> Phool Chatti to Janki Chatti 3 km –> Janki Chatti to Yamunotri 6 km.

Route Map for Char Dham Yatra

The Chardham Yatra can be covered in a total distance of 1,607 km which starts from Haridwar and ends at Rishikesh. The route map for the Chardham yatra is given below, that may help to get an overview of the complete Chardham Yatra

Char Dham Yatra Driving Directions :

Destination: Delhi –> Haridwar –> Barkot –> Yamunotri –> Uttarkashi –> Gangotri –> Guptakashi –> Kedarnath –> Badrinath –> Rishikesh –> Delhi (Back)

  • Delhi to Haridwar – 210 km (6 hours)
  • Haridwar to Barkot – 220 km (7 hours)
  • Barkot to Yamunotri – 36 km (drive) + 7 km by trek
  • Barkot to Uttarkashi – 100 km (4 hours)
  • Uttarkashi to Gangotri – 100 km (4 hours)
  • Uttarkashi to Rudraprayag – 180 km (7-8 hours)
  • Rudraprayag to Kedarnath – 74 km (drive) + 20 km trek (New Route)
  • Rudraprayag to Badrinath – 160 km (6-7 hours)
  • Badrinath to Rishikesh – 297 km (10-11 hours)
  • Rishikesh to Delhi – 230 km (6 hours)

Note:- Driving not permitted in hills from 8 PM to 4 AM.

Important Cities and towns which comes during the Chardham Yatra :

Dehradun – Mussoorie – Chamba – Tehri – Dharasu – Naugaon – Barkot – SayanaChatti – HanumanChatti – Phoolchatti – Jankichatti – Yamunotri – Uttarkashi – Bhatwari – Gangnani – Harsil – Jangla – Bhaironghati – Gangotri (Gaumukh) –  Srinagar – Rudraprayag – Augustmuni – Chandrapuri – Kund – Guptkashi – Phata- Rampur – Sitapur – Sonprayag – Gaurikund – Kedarnath – Ukhimath – Chopta – Gopeshwar –  Chamoli –  Pipalkoti – Joshimath (Auli) – Govindghat – Badrinath- Nandprayag – Karnprayag – Devprayag – Rishikesh – Haridwar

2 thoughts on “Chardham Yatra Route Map”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *